CELTA Bangkok (Part-Time)

  • en

CELTA Part-Time

International House Bangkok is happy to offer a part time CELTA course.

The course content will be identical to our 4 week CELTA program, which you can read about here. The difference between the two courses is that our part time course will be run over 10 weeks instead of 4. The cost of the course is also the same as the full time 4 week CELTA program – USD $1,600.

To apply for the part-time CELTA course, please download the application and pre-interview task sheets here. Once you complete and turn in the pre-interview task sheet and application, we will set up an interview with one of our CELTA trainers.

Please see below for the schedule of the 10 week part-time Cambridge CELTA program.

Date Time Session
Tues 3rd October 2017 18:00 –21:15
  • Course orientation
  • Observe demo lesson
Thurs 5th October 2017 18:00 –21:15
  • Foreign language lesson
Sat 7th October 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • Text-based presentation
  • Analysing grammar
  • Timelines and concept checking
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 10th October 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 1 and Lesson Feedback for trainees A, B & C
Thurs 12th October 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 1 and Lesson Feedback for trainees D, E & F
Sat 14th October 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • Receptive skills staging
  • Analysing and teaching lexis
  • Phonology 1
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 17th October 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 2 and Lesson Feedback for trainees A, B & C
Thurs 19th October 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 2 and Lesson Feedback for trainees D, E & F
Sat 21st October 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • Test-Teach-Test
  • DVD observation
  • Lesson planning
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 24th October 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 3 and Lesson Feedback for trainees A, B & C
Thurs 26th October 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 3 and Lesson Feedback for trainees D, E & F
Sat 28th October 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • Language practice: controlled and freer practice
  • Setting up speaking activities
  • Receptive skills and task types
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 31st October 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 4 and Lesson Feedback for trainees A, B & C
Thurs 2nd November 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 4 and Lesson Feedback for trainees D, E & F
Sat 4th November 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • Teaching functional language
  • Setting up speaking activities
  • Phonology 2
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 7th November 2017 18:00 –21:15
  • New level change over
  • Lesson obs of new level & meet the new class
Thurs 9th November 2017 18:00 –21:15
  • Stage two tutorials for A, B & C
  • Stage two tutorials for D, E & F
Sat 11th November 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • Using student-centred clarification techniques
  • Observation – TBL
  • Task-based learning
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 14th November 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 5 and Lesson Feedback for trainees A, B & C
Thurs 16th November 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 5 and Lesson Feedback for trainees D, E & F
Sat 18th November 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • Teaching writing
  • Using authentic materials
  • Error correction
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 21st November 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 6 and Lesson Feedback for trainees A, B & C
Thurs 23rd November 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 6 and Lesson Feedback for trainees D, E & F
Sat 25th November 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • In-company teaching
  • Teaching young learners
  • Planning for Week 4
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 28th November 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 7 and Lesson Feedback for trainees A, B & C
Thurs 30th December 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 7 and Lesson Feedback for trainees D, E & F
Sat 2nd December 2017 10:00 –17:00
  • Reviewing and recycling
  • Dictation and other activities
  • Literacy
  • Assisted lesson planning for all trainees
Tues 5th December 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 8 and Lesson Feedback for trainees A, B & C
Thurs 7th December 2017 18:00 –21:15 Teaching Practice 8 and Lesson Feedback for trainees D, E & F
Sat 9th December 2017 10:00 –11:30
  • End of course administration

 

If you have any questions, or would like assistance with accommodation, please email us at celta@ihbangkok.com